De

Applications of X-Ray Imaging

The non-destructive method of examining objects and their inner structures has made X-ray imaging an important tool in industry. No matter if in the electronics industry, the energy sector, automotive and aviation industry, medical technology, food industry or the building trade, in the development of new materials, in the field of microsystem technology or additive manufacturing, for error analysis, quality control or process optimization, X-ray imaging is a cross-sectional technology with a wide range of applications. In the future, manifold developments and rapid progress in this area will create enormous potential for the increase of innovation power and competitiveness in all industries.


Examples of Applications

Digital Radiography: Examination of a Circuit Board

Digital X-ray radiography allows quick examination of components and is therefore frequently used for quality control in the production process. Hereby, electronic components can be tested for faulty contacts or cable breaks, for instance. A three-dimensional display of the object, however, is not possible with this method.


Micro-CT: Porosities in Concrete

In micro computed tomography X-rays pass through an object from different angles with the acquired data allowing the reconstruction of a three-dimensional computer model. This makes it possible to visualize or quantitatively evaluate the distribution of porosities in rock samples, such as concrete, for example.


Micro-CT: Bone Structure

With micro computed tomography structures with a size of 5 - 10 µm or more can be displayed which, for example, allows the examination of trabecular bone architecture. Thus, medical technology is in the position to study the reconstruction of bone material or to gain information for the modeling of bone elasticity and capacity.


Micro-CT: Antique Belt-Buckle

Micro computed tomography is a non-destructive examination method and therefore the number one choice when it comes to analysing valuable and unique objects such as works of art or ancient artefacts.


CFK fibres made
visible with submicro CT

Submicro-CT: CFK and CFRP Fiber Structures

Submicro computed tomography enables three-dimensional insights into the structure of objects whereby resolutions of one micrometer and less can be achieved. That way individual fibers in carbon fiber reinforced plastics can be displayed and analysed, for example.


Geological
examination of rocks with micro CT

Submicro-CT: Zirconium Oxide

With submicro computed tomography one can visualize extremely small fissures and minimal porosities. That way, quality in various manufacturing processes can be controlled or materials tested for heat resistance.


Gearwheel examined with darkfield tomography

Darkfield Radiography: Plastic Gearwheel

Digital radiography is often used to detect air pockets in injection-molded parts. The smaller the airpockets, the more easily they can be overlooked during examination. By means of darkfield radiography reliability could significantly be increased, here.


Impact damage CFK in darkfield

Darkfield Radiography: CFK and CFRP Damages

The use of carbon fiber reinforced components in aviation and the automotive industry is constantly increasing. Darkfield imaging is a recently developed, highly promising method for examining CFK and CFRP structures and detecting and characterizing impact and hail damage. It can thus be used in future for quality assurance of fiber reinforced components.


Food testing by means of X-ray darkfield radiography

Darkfield Radiography: Foreign Bodies in Yoghurt

Darkfield imaging is sensitive to structures which are below the actual resolution limit of the X-ray system used. This makes it possible to safely identify fine details in larger objects such as foreign bodies in yoghurt.


Food examination by means of X-ray darkfield radiography

Darkfield Radiography: Solanum Lycopersicum

If the inner structures of an object in digital radiography do not create sufficient contrast, darkfield imaging may be a promising alternative. In this example, the seeds and transportation routes inside a tomato, which are not displayed in regular radiography, can be made visible by darkfield radiography.


Visualisation of
tubuli with tensor-tomography

Tensor Tomography: Tubuli in a Tooth

Tensor Tomography is the three-dimensional extension of darkfield imaging. It allows the characterization of structures below the actual resolution capacity. As compared to regular micro computed tomography even the orientation of extremely fine canals in a tooth can be displayed that way.


Detection of gold by means of dual energy

Dual-Energy CT: Gold Ore with Lead

With multi-energy procedures one can characterize the different metals in an object more precisely and distinguish them from one other. Hereby, - as is the case in the gold ore sample shown here - the gold particles can be differentiated more clearly from other materials such as lead.


Contrast enhancement through phase contrast

Phase-Contrast CT: Plant Seeds

Sometimes the necessary contrast between individual structures can not be achieved due to the low absorption of X-rays. In this case, high-resolution submicro computed tomography scans allow the extraction of phase-contrast images, which are richer in contrast.


Tumor X-ray staining

X-ray Contrast Medium (Staining): Tumor Visualization

In biological tissue samples a significant increase in contrast is possible through the application of suitable contrast agents. If the sample is prepared accordingly before measuring, this method allows for example the visualization of tumors.


Statistical Iterative Reconstruction of a Cigarette

Data Processing: Tobacco Product

In tomographic examinations with very high resolutions minimal motions of the sample can cause fine details in the reconstructed image to be blurred. If advanced algorithms for data processing are applied, such artefacts can later be corrected making a repeated measurement unnecessary.

En

Anwendungsgebiete der Röntgenbildgebung

Die Möglichkeit der zerstörungsfreien Untersuchung von Objekten und deren inneren Strukturen macht die Röntgenbildgebung bereits jetzt zu einem wichtigen Werkzeug in der Industrie. Ob in der Elektronikbranche, dem Energiesektor, der Automobil- und Luftfahrtindustrie, der Medizintechnik, der Lebensmittelindustrie oder dem Bauwesen, bei der Entwicklung neuer Materialien, im Bereich der Mikrosystemtechnik oder der additiven Fertigung, zur Fehleranalyse, Qualitätskontrolle oder zur Prozessoptimierung, die Röntgenbildgebung ist eine Querschnittstechnologie mit breitem Anwendungsspektrum. Die vielfältigen Entwicklungen und rasanten Fortschritte auf diesem Gebiet werden auch in Zukunft branchenübergreifend enorme Potentiale zur Steigerung der Innovationskraft und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit bieten.


Auswahl verschiedener Anwendungsbeispiele

Digitale Radiographie: Platine mit Bauteilen

Die digitale Röntgen-Radiographie ermöglicht eine schnelle Prüfung von Bauteilen und wird daher häufig zur Qualitätskontrolle in der Produktion eingesetzt. Elektronikkomponenten können hiermit zum Beispiel auf fehlerhafte Kontakte oder Kabelbrüche untersucht werden. Eine drei-dimensionale Erfassung des Objekts ist mit dieser Methode nicht möglich.


Mikro-CT: Porositäten in Beton

Bei der Mikro-Computertomographie wird das Objekt von verschiedenen Richtungen durchstrahlt und aus den aufgenommenen Daten anschließend ein drei-dimensionales Computermodell davon rekonstruiert. Dadurch lässt sich zum Beispiel in Gesteinsproben, wie hier im Fall von Beton, die Verteilung von Porositäten visualisieren oder quantitativ auswerten.


Mikro-CT: Knochenarchitektur

Mit der Mikro-Computertomographie kann man Strukturen ab einer Größe von etwa 5-10 µm darstellen und damit zum Beispiel die trabekuläre Architektur von Knochen untersuchen. Hiermit lässt sich in der Medizintechnik der Wiederaufbau von Knochenmaterial studieren oder Informationen zur Modellierung der Knochenelastizität und -belastbarkeit gewinnnen.


Mikro-CT: Antike Gürtelschnalle

Die Mikro-Computertomographie ist eine zerstörungsfreie Untersuchungsmethode und daher meist die erste Wahl bei der drei-dimensionalen Analyse wertvoller oder einzigartiger Objekte wie Kunstwerke oder antike Gegenstände.


CFK-Fasern visualisiert mittels Sub-Mikro-CT

Submikro-CT: CFK Faserstrukturen

Die Submikro-Computertomographie ermöglicht drei-dimensionale Einsichten in Objekte, wobei Auflösungen bis unterhalb eines Mikrometers erreicht werden können. Auf diese Weise lassen sich zum Beispiel die einzelnen Fasern in kohlenstofffaserverstärkten Kunststoffen darstellen und analysieren.


Geologische Untersuchung von Gestein mittels Mikro-CT

Submikro-CT: Zirkonium Oxid

Mit der Submikro-Computertomographie kann man feinste Risse und kleinste Porositäten in Materialien sichtbar machen. Hierdurch lässt sich zum Beispiel die Qualität bei verschiedenen Herstellungsprozessen oder auch die Hitzebeständigkeit von Materialien prüfen.


Zahnrad geprüft mittels Dunkelfeld-Tomographie

Dunkelfeld-Radiographie: Kunststoffzahnrad

Die digitale Radiographie wird häufig verwendet, um Lufteinschlüsse in Spritzguss-Bauteilen zu detektieren. Je kleiner die Lufteinschlüsse, desto leichter können diese bei der Prüfung jedoch übersehen werden. Mithilfe der Dunkelfeld-Radiographie könnte die Verlässlichkeit hierbei deutlich erhöht werden.


Impact Schaden CFK im Dunkelfeld

Dunkelfeld-Radiographie: CFK Schäden

Der Einsatz von kohlenstofffaserverstärkten Bauteilen (CFK und GFK) in der Luftfahrt- und Automobilindustrie nimmt stetig zu. Die neu entwickelte Dunkelfeldbildgebung zeigt großes Potential, CFK-Strukturen zu prüfen und z.B. Aufprall- und Einschlagschäden zu detektieren sowie zu charakterisieren und damit zukünftig bei der Qualitätssicherung von faserverstärkten Bauteilen genutzt werden zu können.


Lebensmittelprüfung mittels Dunkelfeld

Dunkelfeld-Radiographie: Fremdkörper in Joghurt

Die Dunkelfeldbildgebung ist auf Strukturen sensitiv, welche unterhalb der eigentlichen Auflösungsgrenze des verwendeten Röntgensystems liegen. Dadurch lassen sich auch feine Details in größeren Objekten wie Fremdkörper in einem Joghurt sicher identifizieren.


Lebensmitteluntersuchung mittels Dunkelfeld

Dunkelfeld-Radiographie: Solanum Lycopersicum

Wenn die inneren Strukturen eines Objekts in der digitalen Radiographie nicht genügend Kontrast erzeugen, ist gegebenenfalls die Dunkelfeld-Radiographie eine vielversprechende Alternative. In diesem Beispiel können die in der normalen Radiographie verborgenen Samen und Transportwege innerhalb einer Tomate dank der Dunkelfeld-Radiographie sichtbar gemacht werden.


Tubuli Visualisierung Tensor-Tomographie

Tensor-Tomographie: Tubuli im Zahn

Die Tensor-Tomographie ist die drei-dimensionale Erweiterung der Dunkelfeldbildgebung. Strukturen unterhalb des eigentlichen Auflösungsvermögens können hiermit charakterisiert werden. Auf diese Weise lässt sich im Vergleich zur gewöhnlichen Mikro-Computertomographie sogar die Ausrichtung kleinster Kanäle in einem Zahn darstellen.


Detektion von Gold mit Dual-energy

Dual-energy-CT: Golderz mit Blei

Mithilfe von Multi-Energie-Verfahren wie dem Dual-energy Verfahren lassen sich die verschiedenen Materialien in einem Objekt genauer charakterisieren und besser voneinander unterscheiden. Dadurch kann man zum Beispiel in der hier gezeigten Golderz-Gesteinsprobe die enthaltenen Goldpartikel klarer von anderen Materialien wie Blei abgrenzen.


Kontrastverstärkung durch Phasenkontrast

Phasenkontrast-CT: Pflanzensamen

In manchen Fällen lässt sich aufgrund der geringen Schwächung der Röntgenstrahlen nicht der notwendige Kontrast zwischen einzelnen Strukturen erzielen. Hier können bei einer hochauflösenden Submikro-Computertomographie Messung wie bei diesem Samen dank spezieller Algorithmen allerdings oftmals kontrastreichere Phasenkontrastbilder extrahiert werden.


Tumor Röntgenfärbung

Kontrastmittel-Färbung: Tumorvisualisierung

Bei biologischen Gewebeproben ist eine deutliche Kontraststeigerung durch die Anwendungen geeigneter Kontrastmittel möglich. Durch eine vor der Messung durchzuführenden Präparation der Probe können hiermit zum Beispiel Tumore visualisiert werden.


Iterative Rekonstruktion Zigarette

Datenprozessierung: Tabakerzeugnis

Bei tomographischen Untersuchungen mit sehr hohen Auflösungen kann es schon durch kleinste Bewegungen der Probe zu Verschmierungen feiner Details im rekonstruierten Bild kommen. Mit fortgeschrittenen Algorithmen für die Datenprozessierung können solche Artefakte nachträglich korrigiert werden, so dass eine Wiederholung der Messung nicht notwendig ist.